• Language
  • Literature
  • Literacy
  • Listening
  • Reading
  • Viewing
  • Speaking
  • Writing
  • Creating
  • Little Learners Love Literacy (phonics)
  • Magic Words
  • Big 6 (reading)
  • Seven Steps to Writing Success
  • Tree House Reading Intervention Program
  • Extensive Pre Assessment of students to identify points of growth and establish individual learning goals / programs
  • Book Club
  • Parents Home Reading Guide

The BIG 6 of Reading:

During the last three years Glen Huntly Primary has successfully implemented a multi-modal approach (also incoporating ICT resources) to the teaching and learning of Reading right across the school, which exposes the students to learning experiences in the following aspects:

1. Oral Language – the oral development and speaking and conversation skills necessary to be able to read and the structures and elements of oral language that children use and control.

2.Phonological Awareness – awareness of words, of syllables and of individual sounds.

3.Phonics and sight words – concepts and knowledge of print, letter names, letter sounds, words,  books, observing punctuation marks correctly when reading.

4.Vocabulary – word knowledge, knowledge of commonly used words, word usage, word meanings.

5.Fluency – focuses on the three elements of; the accuracy of reading, the rate of the reading and prosody which relates to expression, tone, volume, understanding of text as it is read.

6.Comprehension – understanding authors’ messages and responding to these messages in a range of ways and relates to obtaining meaning and knowledge from the text and allows the reader to make connections.

These six aspects are recognised and acknowledged as the key elements of Reading.  These essential skill areas are learnt in a sequential order, where Oral Language, Phonological Awareness, Phonics and sight word skills must be learnt strongly and comprehensively before the learner of reading is able to effectively move on to the second phase of expanding their proficiencies in the skill areas of Vocabulary, Fluency and Comprehension. Once all or three or four of these six areas are able to be accommodated by the reader, then these skills will all continue to operate concurrently as required by the reader, to successfully accomplish the task of comprehending what is read and responding to this as required.

The BIG 6 approach is well-grounded in extensive research conducted by Flinders University in South Australia and by Griffith University in Queensland, across a vast number of schools in Australia. During 2014 and 2015, Glen Huntly Primary School was also selected to be part of a national research project, working with professors from Griffith University in Queensland, allowing us to successfully implement, build upon, sustain and embed the BIG 6 approach to Reading at our school. The consistent BIG 6 approach to the learning of Reading is continuing to strongly improve our student data results in this curriculum area and in relation to NAPLAN reading results.