School Council

School Council is a dynamic team of 5 staff (including the Principal) and 10 parents working together to set the key directions for the school, ensuring the school implements practices to provide the best quality education in an environment that is nurturing with a focus on our children’s well-being.

Fact Sheet 1: School Council Elections – Parent Information

The School Council is a legal entity that endorses the key school planning, evaluation and reporting documents including the School Strategic Plan, the school budget and the Annual Report.

There are numerous sub-committees, with each school councillor a member of at least one sub-committee:

  • Building and Grounds (BAGS)
  • Curriculum & Policy
  • Finance
  • Glen Huntly Parents Association (GPA) – Social events & Fundraising
  • Publicity & Marketing
  • After Hours Care

School Council members are elected into office for a 2-year term. Calls for nominations for vacant positions are made in February each year, with School Council members elected in March. Office bearers within School Council are elected during the first newly appointed School Council meeting for the year which immediately follows the Annual General Meeting.

There are usually 2 School Council meetings per term (a minimum of 8 per year) and a similar number of sub-committee meetings. There is also the Annual General Meeting where all members of the school community are welcome to attend and the Annual Report is discussed.

The school community is encouraged to provide suggestions and feedback to School Council via school councillors or to the School Council President.

2021 Glen Huntly Primary School Councillors

PRESIDENT – Ross Donnan

VICE PRESIDENT – Nicole Verginis


TREASURER – Supriya Arikarevula

Libby Alessi (GHPS Principal)

Kamila Krauze (Grade 2 Teacher)

David Jenkins (Music Teacher)

Nicole Bishop

Noel Duffy

Gunjan Gosain Oberoi

Maitreyee Khire

Nicole Healy

Caitilin Hawkins

Self-Nomination Form for Parent Member

Nomination Form for Parent Member